Saturday, May 30th, 2015

Clarke Gets Senior Call-Up At Ageas Bowl After Double Ton For Seconds

Clarke Gets Senior Call-Up At Ageas Bowl After Double Ton For Seconds

Joe Clarke is included in the Worcestershire squad for the LV = County Championship clash with Hampshire at the Ageas Bowl starting tomorrow (Sunday).

The England Under-19 wicket-keeper has been called up after scoring 201 not out and 71 not out for the Seconds against Gloucestershire Seconds at Cheltenham College.

Clarke, who celebrated his 19th birthday on Tuesday, is expected to play purely as a batsman if he is named in the final eleven by Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes.

He joins his England Under-19 colleague, all-rounder Ed Barnard, in the 12 man squad with batsman Alexei Kervezee not included of the players in action against Durham this week.

Rhodes' faith in Clarke and Barnard being capable of challenging for a first team spot this summer has been vindicated.

He said: "I think both of them have kicked on with their winters in Australia and I think playing in some good cricket out there has helped them.

"They are only 19 and yet they've both got quite old heads on their shoulders so hopefully they will have a very big future."

Spinner Sachithra Senanayake will end his spell at New Road after the Hampshire game.

The Sri Lankan spinner has played in the opening five LV = County Championship matches of the season. His best return was a four wicket haul during the second innings of the match with Sussex at Hove. 

Senanayake will fly home and prepare for Sri Lanka's ODI series against Pakistan.

He will be replaced by Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal who is due to link up with Worcestershire for a third spell on Tuesday, initially for a five week period until July 7.

Worcestershire finished runners-up to Hampshire in Division Two last season but had the better of the two games between the two sides.

Worcestershire (from):

Mitchell (captain)






Cox (wicket-keeper)






*Worcestershire Academy are in action tomorrow (Sunday) against Devon Lions at Cheltenham CC.

The Academy squad is:





Zain Shah

Zak Smith

Deon Patel

Billy Cox

Lee Tyrell

Dan Lloyd

Pat Brown

Dom Badger