Friday, May 22nd, 2015

Bumpy Names 14 Man Squad For Opening T20 Blast Game At Edgbaston

Bumpy Names 14 Man Squad For Opening T20 Blast Game At Edgbaston

Worcestershire Rapids Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has named a 14 strong squad for the opening NatWest T20 Blast group match with Birmingham Bears at Edgbaston this evening (6.30pm start).

Alex Gidman is poised to make his T20 Blast debut for the county following his move from Gloucestershire.

Spinner Sachithra Senanayake is also in line to wear a Rapids shirt for white ball cricket for the first time after playing in the opening four LV = County Championship matches.

All-rounder Ed Barnard is included in the squad after his promising form in pre-season games, Second Eleven matches and the tour game with New Zealand.

Paceman Charlie Morris, who did not play in the competition last season after the opening two matches against Durham and Lancashire, is also named.

New Zealand batsman Colin Munro is unavailable tonight as he completes his spell in the Indian Premier League with Mumbai Indians who are through to Sunday's final.

He will fly into England in plenty of time for the Rapids first home game of the campaign against Leicestershire Foxes next Friday (May 29).

Worcestershire reached their second quarter-final in three years last season before losing to Surrey at the Kia Oval.

Worcestershire Rapids from:

Daryl Mitchell (captain)

Richard Oliver

Tom Kohler-Cadmore

Alex Gidman

Alexei Kervezee

Ross Whiteley

Ed Barnard

Ben Cox (wicket-keeper)

Joe Leach

Charlie Morris

Sachithra Senanayake

Brett D'Oliveira

Jack Shantry

Shaaiq Choudhry