Saturday, June 13th, 2015

Bumpy Names 12 Strong Squad For Visit Of Local Rivals

Bumpy Names 12 Strong Squad For Visit Of Local Rivals

Worcestershire Director of Cricket Steve Rhodes has named a 12 strong squad for the LV = County Championship derby with Warwickshire which gets underway at New Road tomorrow (11am start).

Rhodes has named the 11 players in action in the last Championship match against Hampshire at the Ageas Bowl minus Colin Munro and plus Moeen Ali and Saeed Ajmal.

Worcestershire dominated that match but were denied probable victory by the loss of 105 overs to the weather on the first and third days.

Rhodes said: "We'd have been delighted to be two wins at this stage. We all know that some games have got away from us – and possibly the Hampshire game as well.

"Nevertheless, we've picked up good bonus points and we've played some good cricket.

"We've certainly competed very hard against these teams and second time around I think they will give us some respect and recognise that we can play some good cricket."

Munro remains a possible option to play future red ball cricket although his main priority is NatWest T20 Blast cricket.

Rhodes said: "It is always an option that we could use but while Saeed is here, he is number one overseas player for first class cricket and we want to give him a fair crack of things.

"Sachithra (Senanayake) actually had a little niggle in his shoulder so that was another reason why Colin played at the Ageas Bowl." 

Assistant coach and bowling coach Matt Mason said: "We owe Warwickshire one after the defeat at Edgbaston.

"Again we thought we had the better for the most part of that game and just didn't come out on top.

"We will be looking forward to that andit will be nice to get back to some red ball cricket after the circus that is T20.

"We are looking forward to that. It is a big game, it always is, and hopefully it will be supported by everyone and we can put in a strong performance and get another win."

The Worcestershire squad versus Warwickshire is:



Moeen Ali