Tuesday, August 14th, 2018

Brown Moves Into Top Ten Of T20 Wicket-Takers In English Domestic Season

Pat Brown has moved into the top 10 for the most wickets achieved in a season during the 15 years of domestic T20 cricket in England.

The Worcestershire paceman added another three scalps to his tally during Sunday’s home Vitality Blast setback by Notts Outlaws.

It took his overall total for the Rapids in the 2018 campaign to 25 from 12 games – and with power to add during the remainder of the competition.

Brown looked like he was facing a challenging day when his first three deliveries were deposited for six by Outlaws batsman Riki Wessels.

But the remainder of his spell produced the figures of 2.4-0-10-3 – a testament to his resilience and skill.

There were more T20 games played during the competition in some of the past years than in the current competition.

Indeed, the all-time leading wicket-taker for a season, Somerset’s Alfonso Thomas, achieved his haul of 33 from 19 games in 2010.

In the same campaign, Hampshire spinner Danny Briggs ended up with 31 wickets – also from 19 matches.

Brown has a possible four more matches in 2018 – the final North Group game, a quarter-final and, potentially, a semi-final and final, at Edgbaston on September 15.

The leading T20 wicket-takers in a season of English domestic cricket are:

33- Alfonso Thomas (Somerset) in 19 games – 2010

31 – Danny Briggs (Hants) in 19 games – 2010

29 – Kieron Pollard (Somerset) in 17 games – 2010

27 – Azharullah (Northants) in 12 games – 2013

26 – Tim Phillips (Essex) from 15 games in 2011

26 – Stephen Parry (Lancs) in 17 games in 2010

26 – Adil Rashid (Yorks) in 16 games in 2010

25 – James Faulkner (Lancs) in 13 games in 2015

25 – Jeetan Patel (Bham) in 15 games in 2014

25 – PAT BROWN (Worcs) in 12 games in 2018

25 – Stephen Parry (Lancs) in 16 games in 2015