Friday, October 4th, 2019


Ed Barnard finished as the highest placed Worcestershire CCC player in the PCA Overall County Most Valuable Player rankings for 2019.

The all-rounder ended in 14th spot with 376.63 points at an average of 10.18 points per game.

Wayne Parnell came in 29th spot – 335.10 points at 11.97 – and Riki Wessels in 37th – 316.48 at 8.55.

Essex spinner Simon Harmer was the overall winner with 608.89 points at 17.91.

Barnard was Worcestershire’s leading placed performer in the Specsavers County Championship MVP rankings.

In 20th position, he totalled 221.46 points at 15.82. Club Captain Joe Leach came 28th with 207.56 points at 17.30.

Moeen Ali played in only seven Vitality Blast matches but made such an impact that he finished third in the final MVP rankings for T20 – and with the highest overall average.

The Worcestershire Blast captain amassed 159.19 points at an average of 22.74.

Durham’s D’Arcy Short ended in pole position with 185.74 points at 15.48 followed by Somerset’s Babar Azam – 160.55 points at 12.35.

Other Worcestershire players in the top 40 were Riki Wessels – 19th – Barnard – 31st – and Parnell – 35th.

Parnell was Worcestershire’s outstanding performer in the Royal London One-Day Cup and ended in fifth spot in the MVP rankings with 123.52 points at 13.72.

The MVP formula was first implemented in 2007 and was designed by the players to provide a more rigorous analysis of player performances than traditional batting and bowling averages.

The cumulative points system gives full credit to those players whose performances improve their team’s chances of winning.

Points are accrued for all runs scored and wickets taken, these are then adjusted within the context of the match to take into account strike rates and economy rates.

Runs gain more points if they are scored quickly or in low-scoring contests. Top order wickets are judged more valuable than those that fall later.

Catches, run-outs and stumpings are also accounted for as well as bonus points for captains and players who are on the victorious side.