Sunday, September 10th, 2017

Ashwin Is 17Th Indian Born Player To Represent Worcs Ccc

Ashwin Is 17Th Indian Born Player To Represent Worcs Ccc

Star all-rounder Ravichandran Ashwin has become the 17th Indian born player to represent Worcestershire in the County Championship since they entered the competition in 1899.

The 30-year-old is the first player of Indian descent to wear the County’s colours since Vikram Solanki – who played ODI cricket for England – left New Road at the end of the 2012 campaign and joined Surrey.

Ashwin is the fourth player from India to play for Worcestershire to have represented his country at Test cricket after the Nawab Of Pataudi, Kapil Dev and Zaheer Khan.

The Nawab Of Pataudi first played for England during the infamous ‘Bodyline’ series in Australia in 1932-33 and then captained India when they toured England in 1946.

Kapil Dev, one of the world’s greatest ever all-rounders, played at New Road for two seasons – 1984-85 – in the era when the side was developing into the one which eventually won seven trophies in five years under skipper Phil Neale.

Zaheer Khan had a superb season with Worcestershire in 2006 and it led to him regaining his spot in the Indian team.

He has often acknowledged how important his spell was at the County in relaunching his international career.

Another Indian born player to play Test cricket was Robert (RJ) Crisp but for South Africa pre Second World War.

The majority of pre-World War Two players were from British families in India before independence who came to the United Kingdon for public school and/or university and jobs or served in the military.

The full list of Indian-born players to have represented Worcestershire – and with their County Colours number and years at New Road – is:


Number 82 – Herbert Fulton (1914)

Number 110 -Humphrey Gilbert (1921-1930)

Number 115 – Clayton Robson (1921)

Number 125 – Arthur Burlton (1922)

Number 207 – Nawab Of Pataudi (1932-1938)

Number 219 – Cecil Pullan (1935-1938)

Number 225 – Antony Legard (1935)

Number 231 – Patrick Leeson (1936)

Number 235 – Robert Crisp (1938)


Number 323 – David Stewart (1970-1973)

Number 335 – Ravinder Senghera (1974-1976)

Number 358 – Mike McEvoy (1983-1984)

Number 363 – Kapil Dev (1984-1985)

Number 390 – Vikram Solanki (1993-2012)

Number 410 – Anurag Singh (2001-2003)

Number 436 – Zaheer Khan (2006)

Number 505 – Ravichandran Ashwin (2017)

*Thanks to Andrew Thomas, author of ‘Pears 150′ for the above information. Pears 150 is still available to buy from the Supporters’ Association Shop on matchdays, priced £28.