Thursday, July 11th, 2019



worcestershire ccc have had a quartet of players selected from their academy-pathway programme for the under-15s bunbury cricket festival for the fifth year running.

rehan edavaleth, harry cooke, ollie walker and reeve evitts have all been chosen for the midlands squad who will be participating in the 33rd bunbury festival from august 4 to 9.

it is further evidence of the superb work of worcestershire ccc academy coach elliot wilson and the other New Road coaches in equalling the achievement of 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 in having a quartet of players chosen.

current worcestershire professional and england under-19s player jack haynes was chosen for the bunburys in 2015 and 2016.

the current quartet were selected after attending various trials and it is a second successive call-up for batsman-off spinner edavaleth who along with evitts is a member of the full worcestershire academy 2018-2019 intake.

malvern college pupil edavaleth, who plays for barnards green, joined the academy pathway three years ago and was a member of the county’s staffordshire satellite academy.

all-rounder evitts, a pupil at john taylor high school, burton, was also previously a member of the staffordshire satellite academy.

walker is a top order batsman and right arm medium bowler who plays for beacon cricket club.

cooke was on the manchester united football academy until the age of 13 and his father is the former burnley, shrewsbury and stoke striker andy cooke.

he is a middle order batsman and right arm seamer who attends shrewsbury school, plays for shrewsbury cc and is part of the shropshire satellite academy.

on stand-by for the bunburys is another worcestershire pathway player in keeper tom cosh who attends bromsgrove school and plays for ombersley cc.

the bunbury festival showcases the skills of 56 of the most talented england under-15 players in the country.

more than 300 bunburys have gone onto play first class cricket – and over 60 have represented england.

the worcestershire players selected in recent years have been:

2015 – jack haynes, musharraf shazad, ewan wilcox and ryan wheldon

2016 – jack haynes – as captain – zain hassan, matt davies and xavier clarke

2017 – dan holland, alex hinkley, pete clark and lewis evans

2018 – josh baker, rehan edavaleth, henry cullen and joe miszkowski