Monday, February 23rd, 2015

Ali Captures Sportsman Of The Year Honour At Bedsa Awards

Ali Captures Sportsman Of The Year Honour At Bedsa Awards

Moeen Ali captured the coveted Sportsman Of The Year award at the first ever British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards (BEDSA) sponsored by Lycamobile which were staged at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry.

The Worcestershire and England all-rounder came out on top from a shortlist which contained Commonwealth Games silver medal sprinter Adam Gemili and world champion cyclist Kian Emadi.

BEDSA celebrates excellence amongst Britain’s outstanding Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) sportspeople.

Moeen, currently in World Cup action for England in Australia and New Zealand, has experienced an outstanding 12 months with club and country.

He made his international breakthrough last February in the West Indies and scored his maiden Test century against Sri Lanka at Headingley, coming within one delivery of saving the game on the final day.

Moeen then filled the considerable gap left by spinner Graeme Swann's retirement and took 6-63 in the win over India at the Ageas Bowl and finished the series – which England won 3-1 – with 19 wickets.

The 27-year-old earned a central contract and notched his first ODI ton against Sri Lanka in Colombo in December when he was promoted to open the innings – a role he has occupied at county level for several seasons.

Moeen also helped Worcestershire gain promotion from Division Two of the LV = County Championship.

He averaged over 60 with the bat from his eight appearances in the competition.

Then yesterday he completed his first World Cup 100 against Scotland in Christchurch.

Other categories at the BEDSA awards included sportswoman of the year – lifted by gynmast Becky Downie – and coach of the year which was won by ex England defender Chris Powell who is now in charge of Championship club Huddersfield Town.

Former athlete Denise Lewis collected a lifetime achievement award.

There were also awards for young sportsperson of the year, unsung hero of the year and inspirational performance of the year.