Saturday, September 27th, 2014

Ajmal, Shantry And Morris Amongst Top Division Two Wicket-Takers

Ajmal, Shantry And Morris Amongst Top Division Two Wicket-Takers

Worcestershire finished with three bowlers in the top eight of the leading wicket-takers in Division Two of the LV County Championship.

Saeed Ajmal finished with 63 victims from his nine games and was the top wicket-taking spinner in either division during 2014.

But not far behind for the county were the new ball duo of Jack Shantry and Charlie Morris.

Shantry finished with a season's best haul of 56 wickets and Morris capped his first full season with 52 scalps.

Derbyshire paceman Mark Footitt ended as the leading wicket-taker in the country with 82 victims.

Former Worcestershire bowler Steve Magoffin returned the best haul of wickets in Division One with 72 for Sussex.


Division Two

Mark Footitt (Derbyshire) 82


Michael Hogan (Glamorgan) 63

Jack Shantry (WORCESTERSHIRE) 56

Darren Stevens (Kent) 56

Mitchell Claydon (Kent) 55

Jim Allenby (Glamorgan) 52

Charlie Morris (WORCESTERSHIRE) 52

Adam Riley (Kent) 48

James Tomlinson (Hampshire) 47

Jesse Ryder (Essex) 44

Division One

Steve Magoffin (Sussex) 72

Jack Brooks (Yorkshire) 65

Chris Rushworth (Durham) 64

Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire) 59

Tim Murtagh (Middlesex) 58

Tom Smith (Lancashire) 54

Alfonso Thomas (Somerset) 53

Keith Barker (Warwickshire) 50

Steve Finn (Middlesex) 48

Ryan Sidebottom (Yorkshire) 46

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) 44